Click here to goBack

Our Diocese

Our Diocese

The Diocese of Winchester, founded in 676AD, is a mix of rural and urban, new and old, innovative and traditional. We serve a population of 1.27 million, of whom over 20,000 regularly attend worship in one of the 375 church buildings across our 255 parishes, led by our 202 ordained clergy, 87 Licensed Lay Ministers and a growing number of lay people commissioned for ministry.

The diocese consists of about two-thirds of the County of Hampshire and most of Bournemouth in the County of Dorset, excluding Portsmouth and the area immediately to its north and northeast. Stretching from the beaches of Bournemouth to the Surrey border, and from the River Hamble to the outskirts of Newbury, over half of the diocese is geographically rural and yet nearly 80% of the population live in urban areas.

Our Structure

An Anglican diocese has a number of ‘layers’: the parishes and chaplaincies are often the most visible. They are supported by the Diocesan Office handling things like training for ministry, finance, safeguarding and property issues. Holding all this together is a structure of senior clergy including our two Archdeacons and three Bishops.

The Right Reverend Philip Mounstephen is our Diocesan Bishop, and is supported by The Right Reverend David Williams, the Suffragan Bishop of Basingstoke, and The Right Reverend Geoff Annas, the Acting Suffragan Bishop of Southampton.

Our bishops across the diocese and have community leadership roles in Winchester, Southampton and Basingstoke respectively. They also support the work of the Church of England nationally.

There are two archdeaconries, Winchester in the north and Bournemouth in the south, administered by our Archdeacon. Each archdeaconry is then separated into administrative areas called deaneries, seven in Winchester and six in Bournemouth.

Winchester Archdeaconry

DeaneryArea DeanAssistant Area Dean
AlresfordThe Reverend Canon Andrew Micklefield
AltonThe Reverend Canon Andrew Micklefield
AndoverThe Reverend Howard JamesonThe Reverend Chris Bradish
The Reverend Matt Coles
BasingstokeThe Reverend Dr Ben KautzerThe ReverendNicola Such
OdihamThe Reverend Canon Marion De QuidtThe Reverend Angie Smith
WhitchurchThe Reverend David RocheThe Reverend James Tomkins-Russell
WinchesterThe Reverend Ed DinesThe Reverend Canon Professor Liz Stuart
The Reverend Mike Griffiths

Bournemouth Archdeaconry

DeaneryArea DeanAssistant Area Dean
BournemouthThe Reverend Canon Michael SmithThe Reverend Canon Mike Powis
ChristchurchThe Reverend Canon Gary PhilbrickThe Reverend Canon Charles Stewart
EastleighThe Reverend Richard WiseThe Reverend Dr Sarah McClelland
LyndhurstThe Reverend Simon NewhamThe Reverend Alison Bennett
RomseyThe Reverend James PitkinThe Reverend Vanessa Lawrence
SouthamptonThe Reverend Dan Clark
The Reverend Simon Robertson
The Reverend Canon Dr Erica Roberts

The diocesan staff are currently located at Old Alresford Place and Wolvesey.

Location of Wolvesey Map Download